Service and Recognition Awards

Award Nominations Details

Details for submission of the 2017-18 Awards will be released in February 2018 with an April 2018 deadline.  Please check back for additional information.

NYHIMA offers the following award categories:

  • Joel Schwartz Recognition: up to three awards of $100 each annually to individuals demonstrating outstanding dedication in the field of medical transcription.
  • Distinguished Member: honors an individual who has made significant contributions at the local, state, and national level in support of the HIM profession.
  • New Professional: honors an individual who has been in the HIM profession for five years or less and has made significant contributions during this time.
  • Author's Award: honors an individual who has published an HIM article, within the past two calendar years, that instructs or guides members with new theoretical concepts or further develops concepts previously presented in another publication.
  • Mentor Award: honors an individual with a record of fostering enthusiasm for the HIM profession, encouraging people to enter the field, and providing ongoing career guidance to new professionals.

NYHIMA Award Recipients

Click here to view last year's award recipients.